Garlic Brown Rice with Beetroot and Flax Seeds

So I’ve been on a 2 month-long binge-eating spree. Let’s call it a holy food trail. Unfortunately, this holy food trail turned out to be quite unfriendly towards my digestive system and thus there was an urgent need for a detox and healthy food (making an ‘ugh’ face here but you can’t see).

Detox – That terrifying and horrible sounding word that I was afraid to even Google search. (I could already taste some bitter gourd in my mouth). However, it turns out, I was a total detox-illiterate, so to speak. Detox didn’t always have to be scary, bland food that doesn’t make sense to your taste buds. After some research and making a bullet list of healthy ingredients I made up my mind to start with the one thing I love the most – rice!

Also, I had no idea that toasted flax seeds tasted SO great.

It’s been a day and a half into ‘Detox and Health Food Week’ and to be honest, I feel ‘not-so-bad’. Of course I miss the greasy fries and the Mayo jar but Extra Virgin Olive Oil and Yoghurt are a healthy compensation.

Here’s hoping the ‘Deep Fry Devil’ doesn’t get the better of me this time. Good luck wishes to self.

Now onto some Green Tea while I write this.

Beetroot Brown Rice (Please excuse the clumsily clicked picture, this was all I could manage from my phone camera)

INGREDIENTS:

  • Brown Rice : 1 cup
  • Water: 2 and 1/4th cups
  • Oil : 1 tsp.
  • Garlic : 1 tsp (minced)
  • Beetroot : 1/2 (grated)
  • Carrots: 2 small (grated)
  • Spring Onion Greens
  • Coriander
  • Seasoning
  • Sesame Oil : 2 tsp.
  • Soy Sauce
  • Stock cube : 1
  • Flax Seeds : 2 tbsp

METHOD:

For the rice: In a pressure cooker, sauté washed rice in the vegetable oil and stir with in the stock cube. Add the water, put on the lid and allow the rice to cook for 2 whistles. Then the heat down to the lowest setting and allow it to cook for another 10 minutes in the residual heat.

For the stir fry: In a pan sauté minced garlic, beetroot and carrots. Add a dash of soy sauce,  and then the rice. Stir fry till everything comes together and the rice takes on a magnificent pink hue. Garnish with spring onion greens, coriander and flax seeds.. Once done, take it off the heat and drizzle sesame oil for flavour.

You could also add some scrambled egg for a healthy egg fried rice version.

I thought health food was boring but on having this rice, I stand corrected!

Leave a Reply

